Plain on the outside, Party in the Middle!

Hi guys,

Today’s cake is a rehash of the funfetti cake from last year only this time better! Though it was a little light on the sprinkles it was definitely a better result. If your a regular reader you might remember this.

funfetti_cut_cake

While it wasn’t a complete failure the cheap sprinkles don’t pack a lot of punch for a funfetti cake so I hunted down something a little more substantial – Jimmy’s. These work so much better. So my idea for this cake was to have a very plain frosting and a big surprise of colour on the inside “plain on the outside, Party in the Middle!!”.

In the end I didn’t use enough of the  jimmy’s but i’m moving forward from the failure that was the last attempt of a funfetti cake. The initial bake looked good so I was pretty happy, I’d fixed the issue of the colour in the cake now I just need more of it.

funfetti_cooked

The next step was to build it, I wanted the inside to scream colour when it was cut open but the outside had to give no secrets away. I piped a big boarder of plain icing on the outside so the colours didn’t leak out and got to work colouring the rest.

funfetti_inside

I’m really loving the vibrant colours you get from the gel pastes and you really don’t need a lot, especially in buttercream. I did have one little mishap though and if you look really closely at the pink ( you may have to click the photo to see the enlarged view) there is a dark pink boarder between it and the orange. After piping it onto the cake I ate what was left in the bowl on the way to the sink and you know that taste you get when you put a pen in your mouth that has leaked? That is the taste you get when you add too much pink to your buttercream! YUK!!  So I quickly scrapped as much as I could off and started again. This just proves 2 things, 1: a little goes a long way and 2: you should taste as you go and enjoy the leftovers.

Once I’d finished the inside it was on to the outside. I mostly make round cakes but had decided to go with a square cake this time and I tell you what I really like round cakes! It wasn’t till a few days after that I saw a tutorial on how to get crisp corners. I fought with them for far too long trying to get them to look good but the beauty is now that I know a better way it should be heaps quicker and less stressful.

funfetti_finished

The request was that the cake was for the people who had had birthdays in January. I think the order for this year is a cake for all the birthdays that month and not each birthday which is cool, I still have to work out those finer details. I have a few things I want to work on this year and a few different ideas for cakes to make. One challenge I have set myself is to be able to write on the cakes, so I started with this one. I’m not very neat with a pen so I was a bit worried about a piping bag but after about 5 attempts on a piece of baking paper I think I did okay. It will come down to practice and if I keep at it I’m sure I’ll get better and hopefully confident enough to put more than 3 letters across an 8″ cake.

funfetti_cut

Once the cake is cut into slices, the icing really does make an impact and with a few more jimmy’s in the mix I think I may have created a really cool funfetti cake.

funfetti_slice

Well that’s a wrap for this cake, to anyone that had a birthday in January I hope you had a FUNfetti day and a Belated Happy Birthday from Adephagia Cakes. Until the next time.

Thanks for Readin’

 

Leave a Reply

