Oh Yeah! I need more of this!

Hello Webbers,

This week I got asked to make a Caramel Cheesecake and I made one of the best tasting cheesecakes thanks to Jane’s Patisserie Blog and her Rolo Caramel Cheesecake. Check out her Blog especially if you love cheesecake!

This is a nice quick easy no bake cheesecake which was awesome because I didn’t have a lot of time this week. I did tweak it a little just to make use of some of the ingredients I already had in the cupboard but I mostly stayed true to this cheesecake.

Here is what I did and how it was different! Firstly I didn’t use Rolos but I did grate dark chocolate over the top and I didn’t use digestive / golden Oreo biscuit base I used a packet of Arnotts choc ripple  which puts a rich chocolate flavour back in but everything else was the same.

So first blitz the biscuits into crumbs in the food processor then pour in the melted butter. Mix thoroughly and pack into the base on an 8 inch springform tin. Put the tin into the fridge to set while you mix the other ingredients.

Starting with the cream cheese and the paddle attachment beat it till it is smooth, nothing worse than lumps of bright white in a caramel cheese cake. Changing over to the whisk attachment add the caramel, (I used Nestle’s top ‘n’ fill, I cheated I know but quick and easy remember!) icing sugar and vanilla, whipping it till it is all combined.

Lastly  add the double cream and whip it ! whip it good!! Funny how that song just gets stuck in your head isn’t it. Once its nice and thick and creamy grab a spoon, lock yourself in a room where no one will find you and don’t come out till you’ve eaten the lot! Honestly this would not be a difficult task it tastes SO GOOD! But seriously now, scoop the cream cheese mix onto the biscuit base prepared earlier, smooth off the top and put it back in the fridge to set over night. Now lock yourself in that room with the beater, bowl and spatula and don’t come out till they are clean!!

The next day take it out of the fridge and remove it from the springform pan. I just ran a knife around the pan before undoing the latch.

caramel_cheesecake

This way you should end up with reasonably smooth sides. Anything left stuck to the ring is for the chef, so hook in.

caramel_cheesecake_unmoulded

Next take the remaining caramel ( I warmed mine just a little to get it to flow freely but not hot enough to melt the cake.) and put it in a disposable piping bag or zip lock bag and snip a small opening. Wave the bag from side to side creating a random line pattern and finish off by grating a bit of dark chocolate over the top.

caramel_cheesecake_decorated

Transfer to a serving plate and keep in the fridge until 1/2 hour before  your ready to serve. Here in the hot, humid climate of Australia you cant leave it out for too long or the cream will loose its structure and melt. It will still taste awesome it just wont look this good.

caramel_cheesecake_finished2

Again a big thank you to Jane’s Patisserie for the recipe I’m sure I’ll be making this again. The coolest thing was that my wife actually tagged me in Jane’s Facebook post asking if I could make it not knowing that it was the one I had just made. It was meant to be !!

caramel_cheesecake_art

Well Christmas is almost here again, I think I should have a couple more posts before then, I have one more school cake and an engagement cake to go. I Also want to try some special dutch biscuits called Speculaas which are traditionally eaten on the eve of the feast of St Nicholas so the 4th December. These are one of my favourite biscuits maybe because of my dutch heritage  so keep an eye out. Until then.

Thanks For Readin’

Leave a Reply

