Hazelnut Chocolate Cake – Flourless

Hay Adephagia fans! Todays instalment is a gluten free chocolate cake. Unfortunately Paleo / I quit sugar friends this one is out for now I’m keen to see how it would go with honey or maple syrup as a replacement. Stay tuned, don’t give up hope!

So the recipe comes from the taste website run by major Australian supermarket chain Coles and was a special request from the birthday boy. It’s a flourless chocolate cake that uses hazelnut meal. This is the first time I’ve baked with it but I think the cake came together well. It uses eggs as its leveling agent like a sponge but after it had cooled it felt more like a mud cake so the jury was out as to whether this cake was indeed a cake or a total disaster. To my surprise it was actually quite light and crumbly. My wife brought me home a slither to try (Thanks! your the Best!) it was pretty good.

Here’s how it’s done!

To make it, you melt the butter and the chocolate together over a double boiler. Once it has melted put it aside to cool a little while beating the sugar and the egg yolks in a mixer. After the chocolate has cooled a bit pour it into the yolk mix and beat it through. Next add the hazelnut meal. By this stage it is becoming more of a thick paste.

Hazelnut Cake

Next in a super clean bowl, beat the egg whites to soft peaks. I got distracted and went a bit over soft peaks but I am still trying to get the hang of the balloon whisk attachment on the kitchen aid mixer, it seems to work really fast!

Hazelnut Cake

Take a third of the egg whites and mix it into the chocolate mix. This helps loosen everything up and makes it easier to fold in the remaining egg whites without deflating them. Pour the batter into a lined tin and place it into the oven at 160C / 320F for about 1 hour.

Hazelnut Cake

Once it’s cooked ( use the toothpick test), take it out of the oven and let it sit for about 10 minutes before turning it out onto a cooling rack.

The icing for the cake is a simple ganache, chocolate and cream heated up and poured over the top. Once it started to thicken I just ran the back of a spoon across to give it some texture.

Hazelnut Cake

To add a little colour I melted some white chocolate and poured it into a little zip-lock bag and cut the corner. To get nice straight even lines make sure you swipe from side to side starting and finishing past the edge of the cake. Do as I say not as I do.

Hazelnut Cake

You can see from the picture above the blobs where I’ve started and finished on the cake. You’ll also notice when I ganache a cake I leave the cake on the cooling rack so the excess can drip off. Also put some baking paper or a tray underneath to make the clean up easier.

This is the finished result. It looks pretty good I think and tastes good too. It has a chocolate hazelnutty taste like Nutella but wasn’t overly sweet either, I think it helps to use a 70% chocolate as it cuts the sweetness.

Hazelnut Cake

It’s light and crumbly yet heavy and dense all at the same time. I’m glad I got to try it and may just make the list again but in more of a sugar free / paleo version.

Hazelnut Cake

I’ve got a few cake coming up over the next few weeks and I’m working on the makings of a summery paleo tart so keep an eye out for that. In the meantime.

Thanks for Readin’

Leave a Reply

